Reviews

Review: Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

24453082

For the record, I normally don’t read self-help books. I am a strictly fiction to the grave type, but this book was highly recommended to me by another close friend who writes. She claimed that anyone who writes, or pursues anything creatively, should read this book. She wasn’t pulling my leg let me tell you.

My Rating: A+

Goodreads Synopsis: Readers of all ages and walks of life have drawn inspiration and empowerment from Elizabeth Gilbert’s books for years. Now this beloved author digs deep into her own generative process to share her wisdom and unique perspective about creativity. With profound empathy and radiant generosity, she offers potent insights into the mysterious nature of inspiration. She asks us to embrace our curiosity and let go of needless suffering. She shows us how to tackle what we most love, and how to face down what we most fear. She discusses the attitudes, approaches, and habits we need in order to live our most creative lives. Balancing between soulful spirituality and cheerful pragmatism, Gilbert encourages us to uncover the “strange jewels” that are hidden within each of us. Whether we are looking to write a book, make art, find new ways to address challenges in our work,  embark on a dream long deferred, or simply infuse our everyday lives with more mindfulness and passion, Big Magic cracks open a world of wonder and joy.

My Thoughts: This book blew my mind honestly. I am not sure if it’s bad luck to have my first review be one of absolute awe, but this is what you’re getting from me today. Gilbert tears the revered suffering artist apart and reveals it for what it really is, a crutch. If you’ve ever felt like you’ve slaved over something, that you’ve work so hard for, that betrayed you while you put all of your heart into it, then you should read this book. I am guilty of this as much as any of us are, so I am quite in that blissful state of remaking that comes with an idea that changes one’s perspective completely.

What I Liked: Gilbert doesn’t take it easy on the reader. She doesn’t coddle all of us poor struggling creative minds. She tells you what’s up and explains your own problematic behavior to you through anecdotes and quips about how she and others learned these lessons themselves. Consider this a jump-start to your own personal revolution.

What I Disliked: I found this book to be nearly flawless honestly. It was just enough of everything to keep me engaged and in wonder about my own existence.

Would I recommend it? For sure. Whether or not you want to understand the world itself or your own mind, you need to read this book.

That’s all for now. Continue on your merry ways!

Your Thoughts?

