Reviews

Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

15507958

My friend gave me this book to borrow. It has been very well recommended so I thought I’d take a stab at it. This is another book that I probably wouldn’t have picked out on my own if someone hadn’t told me to because it’s just really not my cup of tea. With that being said, I did enjoy this book for what it’s worth.

My Rating: B-

Goodreads Synopsis: Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

My Thoughts: As far as chick lit romantic novels go, this one was very well thought out. I believe that realistically this scenario, a crippled man falling in love with his caretaker, could happen in real life. This is the first romantic book I’ve read in a long time that had a more adult based audience as I normally read Young Adult novels. Don’t get me wrong this was an enjoyable read. It just didn’t give me a big wow moment like I had expected.

What I Liked: I liked the ending (Sue me). I liked that Will goes through with it in the end and dies because if he didn’t it would be grossly out of character. I like that Nathan knew that the only way his suffering would end was if he died. The ending was what people did not expect, did not want to happen, and dreaded, even though it was clearly the path that was going to be taken from the very beginning. The reader expects it to change, and then is surprised when it does not. That fascinated me.

What I Disliked: I didn’t like Lou. I found her to be annoying and incapable of making a decision for herself. Her characterization was not inaccurate, there are people in life that are like her, but her monologue, childish attitude, and lack of a spine tempted me to throw the book several times.

Would I recommend it? I would recommend it to someone that enjoys this type of book. (Aka my mom). However, it doesn’t have the adrenaline rush that I normally like to see in books. It’s heartbreaking, but it didn’t leave me with a sense of awe afterwards.

That’s all for now. Continue on your merry ways!

Your Thoughts?

