Uncategorized · What I'm Up To

August Wrap-Up

Another month has come and gone as the passage of time as not disappointed. Thankfully, I was home for a little bit this month, so I had access to my library. Now, that I am back at school I will have to resort to buying books/ebooks. Sigh.

Here’s What I Read this Month:

Guy in Real Life by Steve Brezenoff

 18599748

This was a different twist on teen romance, and it definitely wasn’t stereotypical. If you’re into video games, I would highly recommend. Rating: B+

The Last Boy and Girl in the World by Vivian Siobhan

24157347

Here’s my Review. I thought this book was really well put together, as in the characterization was accurate, the plot was interesting, and I felt satisfied with the ending. Rating: A-

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

18712886

This is book stuck out to me because there is really no romance plot. It’s about a Queen struggling to take care of her realm and grow into the role. Lots of Feminist vibes. Rating: A-

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig 

21979832

A time traveling ship that transverses the world with a crew made of people from numerous decades. I loved the concept of this book and the main character. Also, the Coast Guard references (Technically I was on Eagle in the time frame when the Author mentions it, so it wasn’t in NY Harbor, but Dublin, Ireland). Rating: A

The Bone Season By Samantha Shannon 

17199504

In a world where psychic abilities are a commonality, higher beings, Rephaite, are secretly running civilization from behind the scenes. Plot and concepts were great, the love story seems very forced, and is very out of character for the main character. So that was disappointing.  Rating B+

The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

19370304

An interesting seriies of stories  of an Alaskan community that are intertwined. Very slow paced for me, but interesting characters. Rating: B

Friction by Sandra Brown

25114548.jpg

Court Jude falls for rough and tough Texas Ranger with stalkerish tenadencies, while endangering her own life, breaking all morals she had before, and leaving her own personality behind for a guy. He comes to the rescue to save the day.

Rating: C+

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

thissavagesong

Here’s my Review. A city full of nightmares, but who’s the real monster here. Daughter of a power hungry business tycoon unravels the lies in her father’s empire while realizing that her world is not what it seems and befriending one of the monsters. Rating: B+

Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

25756328

Girl travels to Italy upon request of her dying mother and learns the truth about her parentage and does some self-discovery. Main character is quirky and the love story is cute. Kind of makes you want to live in Italy. Rating: B-

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

29056083

And finally, the book on everyone’s list. I was so torn about reading this that I almost didn’t do it. I knew it wasn’t going to be the Harry Potter I love, mostly because it wasn’t written by Rowling. Honestly, it was like reading bad fanfiction. Everyone was out of character, the plot was so far fetched, and I wasn’t satisfied with the ending. I won’t say much more because I’ll probably review it later.

Rating: B-, purely based on sentiment. I didn’t enjoy the play this much.

Hopefully I am equally as productive next month, but with school starting up it’ll be a shot in the dark whether or not I can get ten books in again.

Anybody else read these books recently? Your thoughts? 

That’s all for now, carry on your merry ways!

-Leah

Your Thoughts?

