Reviews

Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

29056083

!Major spoilers alert! Also, features me going on a rant in order to get some things off my chest. I was in London just a couple of months ago, we went to Platform 9 3/4 and it was awesome. Didn’t make it to Harry Potter studios (I was only there for 2 days). I was kind of hoping this play was going to be showing when we were there, but alas the universe has failed me again.

Today, I will be talking about the book that everyone’s talking about. The eighth Harry Potter book, if you even want to call it that. I am a little bit more than a little disappointed and saddened by this mess. I wanted to give this book a chance, those of us who were nursed on Harry Potter from the days when we were learning to read were ecstatic to hear about any new material. This is not what I expected.

My Rating: C+, if it wasn’t Harry Potter I would have given it a lower score.

Goodreads Synopsis: Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

My Thoughts: I strongly disliked this. People keep using the argument that it was a play and that it wasn’t written by Rowling. She probably didn’t have much say in it at all, but the writers butchered her characters. Ron was a joke, Harry was a poor father, and everyone was out of character. I’ve read more realistic fanfiction. The whole Voldemort having a daughter with Bellatrix thing was such a disaster. Really, you think the Dark Lord would have sex with  Bellatrix Lestrange? That would give him a weakness, assuming he would care at all about the child. It would make him vulnerable. He would never do it. Also, Ron who was PUT UNDER A LOVE POTION BY A CRAZY GIRL, would never give one as a joke to a kid.never.

What I Liked: I liked that Hermionie and Ron’s relationship was there somehow no matter what else happened in time. They are honestly one of my favorite literary couples because they have such a normal, teenager relationship where it was complicated and messy, but they grew into each other.

What I Disliked: Albus and Scorpious were totally in love with each other and no one can convince me otherwise. Basically, to add on to what I said earlier. Everyone was not themselves in this play. It was meant to be a play, to be shown with live actors. Turning into a book seems like it was a get rich quick plan. Notice J.K. Rowling’s name is bigger on the cover than the actual authors? They were using the name for advertising to get more people to buy it. I guarantee it. It kind of bugs me that the story that still has a piece of my heart after all this time (always) is being used to just absorb as much money as possible. With that being said, I will definitely be there for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, because I feel like Rowling had more say in the movie then she did in this play.

Would I recommend it? If you’re capable of separating the quality of this from every other piece of Harry Potter literature, go for it. If not, you’ll be disappointed because it is not anything like the other books.

That’s all for now. Continue on your merry ways!

-Leah

 

One thought on “Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Your Thoughts?

