Reviews

Review: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Writing this review without spoilers was perhaps the biggest challenge of Book Blogging so far. I ordered this weapon made of words off of Amazon because I believe that Barnes and Noble sold out. I have been putting off reading it because I knew as soon as I started it I wouldn’t be able to stop. I was right. I read through most of my classes this week in order to finish.

My Rating: A+

Goodreads Synopsis: The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

My Thoughts: All of your favorites back and at it again. This book caused me to have very physical reactions to everything that was happening. I would not recommend reading it in a public place if you don’t like people staring at you. We hit highs and lows and everywhere in between. And I say we because this book has an unusual way of making the reader feel like they belong with the characters. As if during the reading process, everything is as it should be. Sarah J. Maas’ writing just feels right to me. I am not sure if is the same for anyone else, but I would love to know in the comments.

What I Liked: The best part about this book is now everything starts coming together, especially if you’ve read The Assassin’s Blade. I like how much this story has expanded from the first book. We’ve got side plots and characters with their own backstories and I love that about this series. The amount of characterization in Maas’ writing is phenomenal and she does a great job of world building. Since, there is still one more book to go, I’m reserving judgments on the entire series, but I am eagerly anticipating the conclusion.

Oh, and the ending destroyed me.

What I Disliked: A lot of people who read A Court of Thornes and Roses and A Court of Mist And Fury had less of a wow factor when reading Empire of Storms. I think the reason for that is that the actual sex scenes between Rowan and Aelin/Ferye and Rhysand are very similar. Maas writes a good romance, but she writes it the same way. Another annoyance for me personally was the amount of romance and sex scenes. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the Beach scene as much as the next reader, but there were just astronomical amounts of couplings in this book. The side plots are part of the reason I love this book, but each of these little side romances feels the same and almost forced. These people are running for their lives and trying to save their people, the sheer amount of undeniable physical attraction astounded me. Maas also repeats a lot of the same phrases during her romance/sex scenes so all of them seem to blur together.

 

Would I recommend it? Yes, I would reccomend this series to all lovers of anything fantasy and adventure. Especially if you like Game of Thrones and female assasins.

 

-Leah

One thought on “Review: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Your Thoughts?

