Reviews

ARC Review: All Her Secrets by Kate Avery Ellison

all-her-secrets-front-copy

We just talked about the ethics of robots in class this week, so I was very excited when I got my hands on this book. I received the e-book via NetGalley it is due to publish October 18th. The cover was a complete twist from what I thought this book would be about, even the Goodreads description is misleading. I mean, looking back at this it’s very clear what the intention was. hindsight is such a beautiful thing, especially when it comes to mysteries.

My Rating: B+

Goodreads Synopsis: Nothing is as it seems in this psychological YA thriller set in a not-too-distant future.

A GIRL WITH SECRETS

Eighteen-year-old Victoria, the daughter of inventor and visionary-genius Bill Faraday, was almost murdered by a stranger four years ago. She’s been trying to forget the incident ever since.

When Victoria discovers something that might explain why she was brutally attacked, she heads home from college to uncover the truth. Then, she’s kidnapped.

A GUY FROM THE WRONG SIDE OF THE TRACKS

Sam’s just a poor kid from Valley City, but he knows who Victoria is as soon as his cousin Craig drags her from the trees. He doesn’t want anything to do with what appears to be a revenge kidnapping, but Craig has a gun and needs someone to take the fall if things go wrong.

A DESPERATE PLAN TO SURVIVE

Craig and his buddies imprison Sam and Victoria in an abandoned mountain cabin to await ransom. Putting aside mistrust for tentative friendship, Victoria and Sam conspire to escape together, and the close quarters ignite a startling attraction between them. Then they discover strange tunnels beneath the cabin. And what they find inside the tunnels proves more bizarre.

With a plan in place to escape, freedom seems within reach. But Sam and Victoria are both keeping secrets about their past.

And secrets can be deadly.

My Thoughts: When this book started out, I was not a happy camper. It was slow, I had no idea where it was going. The writing style didn’t appeal to me. However, about half-way through it really started to pick up pace. This is when things started to get really weird and sketchy. The horrific part of the book is that the future in it, is not that far away. It could be 100 years off, if that. It was really interesting to see the author’s interpretation of where she thinks our society could be heading.

What I Liked: I thought both Ben and Victoria were unique in the world of YA for many good reasons. Victoria has both anxiety and PTSD, both which were written about very realistically. I’m all about books that portray mental illness accurately. Ben is interesting because he is not the stereotypical male character. He’s scared and one could even argue unheroic. It’s not something that is typically found in YA, but for me I thought it made it more real. While some aspects of this book seemed a bit far-fetched to me, how the characters reacted to certain scenarios was very realistic. Also, I totally did not expect the ending. I thought it was a good twist, made me like the book more.

What I Disliked: I thought the romance was very misplaced. I think it would have been better off without it. Especially in a kidnapping story. I don’t think it was realistic or even possible for them to have romantic feelings in the situation they were in. It felt forced, like no one in their rational mind would fall in love in this scenario. Also, it kind of came out of nowhere. There wasn’t enough build up to it. Also, the beginning was pretty boring for me. I only really started to enjoy it towards the end.

Would I recommend it? If you like hard moral questions and psychological thrillers, this will be right up your ally. Pace is a little slow, in the first half, for those that don’t like that.

-Leah

One thought on “ARC Review: All Her Secrets by Kate Avery Ellison

Your Thoughts?

