Reviews

Review: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

hollyblack-banner

First of all, I would like to apologize for not posting in almost a week. This was Midterms week for me and it was absolute hell. I had little to no free time to even read, much less write. Hopefully, things get better after this. I go to military school for those of you that didn’t already know that, so when they mean to occupy every waking moment of our time, they mean business. I picked up the paperback copy of this book off of the $3 rack at my local bookstore because I had heard good things about it. Also, I read The Darkest Part of the Forest last year and thought it was stellar. I finished the majority of it on the train last night, so here we go.

My Rating: B-

Goodreads Synopsis: Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is a wholly original story of rage and revenge, of guilt and horror, and of love and loathing from bestselling and acclaimed author Holly Black.

My Thoughts: As part of a semi-Halloween theme I’ve got going on in my TBR, this book was definitely right up my ally of creepy. The setting of this book is what really sold it for me. This universe is completely obsessed with vampires, even though it’s an epidemic. It’s in the media, it’s online, the bloodsuckers are practically celebrities. I just found this to be hyper-realistic of what I imagine would happen if Vampires became an epidemic in our world. Because of the media hype of basically everything, I felt like their world was just one mass outbreak of bloodsuckers away from ours. This created a lot of interesting debate in my head as I was reading this book.

What I Liked: I liked Tana. I thought that she was a realistic and strong female character. She makes her own victories. She’s intelligent, she can hold her own. She’s even a bit cruel, but she’s the most rational person in Coldtown in my opinion. I liked her tragic backstory. I was elated when we were dropped right into the story instead of having some weird build-up and then the inciting incident. I thought the writing style was well-done. The culture of Coldtown was fascinating to me, humans wishing to be vampires so badly that they will risk death. Overall, I thought it was enjoyable read.

What I Disliked: So Leah if you liked this book so much, why is your rating relatively low? I’m glad you asked. I was on the outskirts of the Twilight mass mania. I read the books, thought they were okay, but preferred Harry Potter. That kind of thing. But later listened to all of its criticisms, which ended up resonating with me. SPOILER ALERT: The reason that I didn’t like this book was because Tana fell in love with a Vampire. Now, none of her being in love with Gavriel affected her decisions. She does what she thinks is best even though she’s got an ancient dead vampire in love with her. And she makes her own decisions. Honestly I found Gavriel to be creepy. I thought that their relationship dynamic was weird.

To take into consideration: I normally have a hard time finding relationships that I believe to be well-balanced and healthy in young adult. I am very critical of romance in these books. So don’t let this deter you from reading The Coldest Girl in Coldtown.

Would I recommend it? Yes, I found this book to be highly engaging and interesting.

Have you guys read this one? Were you a member of the Vampire Fad of Twilight? Am I too critical of YA romance?

-Leah

Your Thoughts?

