Uncategorized

Fairytales in Modern Culture Edition

Fairytales are one of the few things that will always bring me certain happiness. My mother has a very very very old copy of the Brothers Grimm Fairytales that we used to read all the time. I have been infatuated with most of these stories for a large portion of my life. Lucky for me, society also seems to have a mutual love for fairytales. Here is some of my favorite examples of this in our own modern culture.

Books: 

Books that include fairy tales are attractive to me because most of the time they are a retelling. The best part about this is that the author can add their own twist to make it original. Here are some of my favorites.

77493_original

A Court of Thrones and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

This is a Beauty and the Beast retelling. I thought it was captivating, but the sequel is even better. Since this is so hard to come by in YA, I recommend checking it out.

lunar-chronicles-by-marissa-meyer

The Lumatere Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

These retellings are all intertwined in the not-so distant future. It’s easily one of my favorite book series for its dynamic and lovable characters. The plot is fast paced and exciting as well as bringing to light social issues that reflect our own society.

all_book_covers

The Sisters Grimm by Michael Buckley

I am a really big fan of this series. I read it when I was in Middle School up until it finished. I thought all of the characters were beautifully written. It’s meant for a younger audience, but it’s something that everyone can enjoy.

20734002

The Weight of Feathers by Anna Marie McLemore

This one is actually a retelling of Romeo and Juliet, not a fairytale. However, I am surprised that it is not more prominent in YA. It is a phenomenal book and I highly highly recommend it.

Movies:

In recent years, Disney has been remaking all of it’s originals as live action. I haven’t see most of these, but I am really excited about them all the same.

mv5bmjmxodyyodezn15bml5banbnxkftztgwmdk4otu0mze-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_

Cinderella (2015)

This enchanting reproduction had everyone swooning. I haven’t actually seen it yet, but I have heard wonderful things. It’s definitely on my to-watch list

maleficent-2014-57

Maleficent (2014)

Unfortunately, I haven’t seen this one either. There are small clips here and there that I have had the pleasure of viewing. I do plan on watching it at some point.

mv5bmjeymzexmdcznv5bml5banbnxkftztgwmzyzmjczote-_v1_sx214_al_

Beauty and the Beast (2017)

This is the one I am the most excited about. I am a die hard Beauty and the Beast fan.

TV Shows:

I don’t watch a whole lot of TV, but when I do there’s probably either fairytales or superheroes. Here’s some that I found:

mv5bmjm1mdy1mdg2ov5bml5banbnxkftztgwnjgwmzyzmde-_v1__sx1099_sy537_

Grimm

I haven’t watched this show yet, but apparently it’s a cop story with a twist. The bad guys are all from the Grimm’s fairytales. Not Disney ones, but the real versions.

mv5bmtgyodm5mdyxov5bml5banbnxkftztcwode3nzqzng-_v1__sx1099_sy537_

Once Upon A Time

I have watched a few seasons of this show. The first few were phenomenal, but then they started adding characters that were a stretch to fit with the theme. It’s still a decent watch, but it does get repetitive.

What’s your opinion of Fairytales? What as your favorite Fairytale growing up? Would you ever want to meet a Fairytale character in person?

-Leah

Your Thoughts?

