Reviews

Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

the-unexpected-everything-9781481404549_hr

“I could do this. If whole galaxies could change, so could I.”

I got this one online from my library, thank goodness for the online library system or I would be completely stranded at college. Honestly, I was expecting it to be a light YA romance, but it had some pretty complex issues. This is right up the ally of those who like Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl or Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

My Rating: A-

Goodreads Synopsis: Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

My Thoughts: The story starts off with Andie, a girl who has her whole life planned, only to have it turned upside down. She’s coping with the death of her mother, the distancing of her father since this incident, and basically growing up on her own. I thought that the writing style was perfect for the type of novel this is. There are some scenes that are written in text message form, and I think that this highlights the effects of texting as a major form of communication in today’s society. It’s not shown as being trivial or weak, essentially it is the way that Andie communicates  with her friends, which makes it valid to the story. I am curious if more YA authors will be altering the formats of their books to encompass modern forms of communication. I know there are a couple written completely in text form and email form. Those don’t really appeal to me. The Unexpected Everything has just enough to be valid, but not overwhelm you.

What I Liked: I thought Andie’s character was complex and fluid, she was annoying at the beginning but by the end I definitely liked her immensely more. It was very typical of a teenager growing up. Also, Clark is definitely making the Top Ten YA Boyfriends. He’s sweet and dorky, it’s beautiful honestly. The dynamic between Clark and Andie had my heart fluttering. It is a well-written deep romance where they both deal with different issues, but being in the relationship does not fix all of their problems, they do that one their own. This separation needs to be implemented more in YA.

What I Disliked: While I did thoroughly enjoy this one, the pacing was a little bit slow for me. And for a book about the unexpected, I was able to call a lot of the plot points before they were made. Spoiler Alert: there was a point in the book where female friendships are jeopardized for the sake of a guy, and while I found everyone’s reactions to be true to their characterization, it was a slightly annoying way to reveal the flaws in everyone’s character. It’s something that you either hate or love. It just didn’t sit well with me. I did however like the mostly-happy-ending.

Would I recommend it? Yes, it’s cute. It reflects on a true teenage existence when everything seems like the end of the world. The book is about growing up with the guaranteed spontaneity of life. It’s a lesson that I feel all of us, me especially, could use.

Have you guys read this book? Have you ever been a dog walker? What are your thoughts on homeschooling?

-Leah

Your Thoughts?

