Reviews

eArc Review: The Sky Between You and Me by Catherine Alene

30063029

“She shouldn’t love me

Asia that is

I know

I don’t.”

I got this as an advanced reading copy via NetGalley. I was originally intrigued because of the horses, which is probably a strange reason to pick up a book about eating disorders. But as a child I absolutely loved horses, even tried to convince my parents to buy me one. This book is painfully accurate about what is like to spiral out of control, and how one begins to recover from that kind of fall.

My Rating: B+

Goodreads Synopsis: Lighter. Leaner. Faster.

Raesha will do whatever it takes to win Nationals. For her, competing isn’t just about the speed of her horse or the thrill of the win. It’s about honoring her mother’s memory and holding on to a dream they once shared.

Lighter. Leaner. Faster.

For an athlete. Every second counts. Raesha knows minus five on the scale will let her sit deeper in the saddle, make her horse lighter on her feet. And lighter, leaner, faster gives her the edge she needs over the new girl on the team, a girl who keeps flirting with Raesha’s boyfriend and making plans with her best friend.

So Raesha focuses on minus five. But if she isn’t careful, she will lose more than just the people she loves. She will lose herself to Lighter. Leaner. Faster.

My Thoughts: This book is written completely in verse, which means it is basically a long series of poems. It’s beautifully written and completely accurate as to what life spiraling out of control feels like, whether it’s an eating disorder or some other type of mental illness. Raesha was heartbreaking for me to read. The verse lines keyed right into my heart. I felt very strongly for everything that she was going through.

What I Liked: I liked how the “other girl” who flirts with Cody, Raesha’s boyfriend has her own tragedy, her own backstory, and her own emotions. I liked how the book made me feel in my chest like someone understood that life was not always pretty and glossed over, it can be terrible and nasty as well. It is valuable to think that you are not alone in this, everyone in your life has their own struggles. Also, the element of the horses and the barrel racing was fascinating to me.

What I Disliked: The style of verse is not one that I particularly find appealing. For me, I need the full story, not ambiguity that comes with poetry. While it was very emotionally based, and I had a clear picture of how Raesha was feeling, I had no idea what the other characters knew/didn’t know, where there heads were at, or any other details of their life. This is more in my preference of books than anything else. I also became very frustrated with Kierra because it was very very very apparent that she was trying to steal another girl’s boyfriend, one she knew, or had some idea, of her mental illness. I was  mad at Cody for knowing what was happening and letting her flirt with him. There is no freaking way that they did not know that what they were doing was flirting and I thought it was absolutely horrible to Raesha.

Would I recommend it? Yes, the style is a bit different, but I thought it captured eating disorders exceedingly well.

Is this book on your to-read list? What is your take on the prevalence of eating disorders within our society? Have you ever ridden a horse?

-Leah

 

Your Thoughts?

