Literature Thoughts

Review: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

16429619

“Maybe there was no one way to define it. Maybe there were as many shades of love as the blues of the sky.”

I picked this one up from my online library. It was on my to-read list, so I figured why not tackle it before Thanksgiving. I was very interested in the concept of a runaway princess hiding from arranged marriage, defying constructs of society.  This wasn’t what I expected.

My Rating: C+

Goodreads Synopsis: A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

My Thoughts: The Point of View in this book jumps around so much that I had a hard time remembering who was speaking. The writing style wasn’t great but not terrible either. I didn’t get the feeling like I was being transported into the world of this book. There is supposed to be a certain level of suspense to this style of writing, and I do understand that. However, it was so confusing that it didn’t have any effect on me.

What I Liked: I thought Lia had so much potential as a character. Between her, Pauline and Gwen, there was a lot of strong female characters. Lia proves over and over again that she has a good heart and cares about people. Her friendships with the other female characters, especially Pauline, were very represenative. The side characters all have their own goals, ambitions and dreams, which I found to be captivating.

 

What I Disliked: My usual complaint, there was such a heavy focus on romance. This girl just escaped an arranged marriage to forced into more unnecessary romance at her own expense. It’s very forced. Also, there was another dreaded love triangle, concerning someone who was trying to kill Lia. I found this is be infuriating, because no person in their right mind would have romantic feelings for someone trying to kill her.

Would I recommend it? No, and I probably won’t be reading any of the rest of the series.

Is this book on your to-read list? Would you run away on your wedding day? Am I overreacting about the redundant over use of romance in Young Adult literature?

-Leah

One thought on “Review: The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

  1. Oh, I loved this book but mainly bc of the twist of who ends up being the Prince and who ends up being the assassin. Wasn’t who I expected at all. The rest of the series deals more with the war between Morrighan and Venda…and the evil of the Komizar. The first book just sets up the people. I loved it but I understand if you didn’t like the romance. At least you tried it!

    Like

Your Thoughts?

