Uncategorized

Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover

download-1

“I’m afraid if I listen to my heart once, I’ll never figure out how to ignore it again.”

I hope everyone is having a good holidays. In my desperate efforts to read 100 books by the end of the year (I am at 96, I am not sure if I will make it), I am reading a whole lot of Colleen Hoover. This one was not my favorite one so far, but that’s not to say that it wasn’t a gripping read. This review contains a lot of border-line spoilers,

My Rating: A-

Goodreads Synopsis: Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

 

My Thoughts: I read this one in one go, unable to put it down. The scenario is captivating, what do you choose? Your son or the man you love? Trey really freaked me out, he was your typical abusive asshole, everyone knows someone like him and that’s what made him terrifying. This is the second Hoover book I’ve read, where a brother goes after his dead-brother’s lover with a child involved. I am really curious as to how often this happens in real life. Colleen Hoover’s books always have a way of really causing a gut-wrench right when you think you are out of the woods, this one is no different.

What I Liked: The gripping choice that Auburn has to make between Owen and her child kills me. In Hoover’s book, there is always some great choice, some unparalleled dilemma. Every time there seems to be no way out, until there is. I think that is what draws so many people to read her books. People revel in the drama of it, me as much as anyone else.

What I Disliked: The ending wasn’t as satisfying for me as Colleen’s books usually are. I thought the conflict was resolved too easily, I thought that it was strange that Auburn never got her “big reveal” of Owen’s whole story. It just left me feel unsatisfied, which is strange because these books normally wrap up so nicely. There is also a moment where Own repeats over and over, “I deserve you.” This really bothered me. I know everyone deserves love and all that what not, but it felt like he was forcing Auburn to choose him over her son, not necessarily letting her make her own decision.

Would I recommend it?  Yes, another solid read from the New Adult section.

Is this book on your to-read list? What is your favorite Colleen Hoover book? What is your confession?

-Leah

2 thoughts on “Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover

Your Thoughts?

