Literature Thoughts · Reviews

Rereading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Harry_Potter_and_the_Sorcerer's_Stone.jpg

Hello Everyone! As one of my reading goals for 2017, I am rereading Harry Potter. As I am going through this, I am paying particular attention to how reading this series is different for me as an adult compared to now. At different points in our lives, the stories we read take on different meanings. My goal through this endeavor is finding new meaning in the most beloved fantasy series of all time.

Young Harry- One of the major differences between this read through and the last time I read the series is the fact that Harry seems so young to me. I am nearly twice his age now, but he seems like a baby.

Life Lessons- This is probably one of the more quotable Harry Potter books, though all of them feature some pretty great lines. Dumbeldore in particular has some really great wisdom for Harry throughout the book. Just some examples:

          “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”

          “It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”

          “The truth.” Dumbledore sighed. “It is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with great caution.”

Humor-It was daunting to me how funny this book was to me. All of the jokes that would have had me dying as a kid still had the same effect.

          “So–after that obvious and disgusting bit of cheating–“

          “Jordan!” growled Professor McGonagall.

          “I mean, after that open and revolting foul–“

          “Jordan, I’m warning you–

I even found Harry to be quite the sarcastic little 11-year-old in this one. I just picture him having such a dry sense of humor. I almost think I appreciate it more now as an adult.

          “Harry, you need your strength,” said Seamus Finnigan. “Seekers are always the ones who get clobbered by the other team.”

          “Thanks, Seamus,” Said Harry, watching Seamus pile ketchup on his sausages.

Another thing that I really enjoy about the Harry Potter world, there seems to be little to no discrimination based on gender so far. Here’s an example, Wood doesn’t even question Angelina Johnson’s comment about women playing Quidditch.

          Wood cleared his throat for silence.

          “Okay men,” he said.

          “And women,” Said Angelina Johnson.

         “And women,” Wood agreed. “This is it.” 

Worldbuilding– Still one of the most significantly impressive characteristics of Harry Potter is the magnificent worldbuilding. I believe this is what captures most people into reading the book. One of the main details that I had forgotten about was how intense the Centaurs were especially with their knowledge of astronomy and the stars. They predicted Voldemort’s return, which I found to be an interesting plot point.

It is a great adventure to grow up alongside these books. I read them growing up, but looking back I hadn’t realized how much they had shaped my childhood.

What have you noticed about the Harry Potter books? Which is your favorite? How do you feel about astronomy?

-Leah

3 thoughts on “Rereading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

  1. This is so funny: on Feb 4, me and a couple of other bloggers are rereading the series, too!
    It’s five of us total! I’m so glad you’re reading it too…some of us haven’t even finished the series the first time before!

    Like

  2. I LOVE Harry Potter! So much so that I’m actually visiting the Wizarding World of HP in LA this weekend with my fellow Potteheads — my siblings. What a delight it was to see this update from your blog, we’re definitely on the same wavelength. The first one will always be my favorite 🙂

    Like

Your Thoughts?

