Reviews

Review: It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

51KZalxuryL._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

“All humans make mistakes. What determines a person’s character aren’t the mistakes we make. It’s how we take those mistakes and turn them into lessons rather than excuses.”

Hello everyone, first off I would like to apologize for my extremely long silence. Life has been pretty crazy lately and for that reason and many others I haven’t been doing much reading (Although, I have been doing a significant amount of writing). I am continuing on with my reread of Harry Potter. However, I believe I am only going to do one big post at the end to recap it. For now, I am going to talk about It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover. This is one of the books that I feel like came into my life at the right time.

My Rating: A+

Goodreads Synopsis: SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.

Plot: This review will contain some minor spoilers (nothing to ruin the book for you, but spoilers all the same) I was immediately captured by Hoover’s writing style as always. She writes a very compelling narrative that easily draws you in. Though there are the classic elements of a Colleen Hoover, the brooding dark male, the witty woman, and quirky friends. There are also the tragic backstories that break our hearts and the charming romances that heal them back together. While these are commonalities throughout Hoover’s books, I still find myself enjoying them every time. This one in particular has several plot elements that I enjoyed, the narrative of the flower shop, Alyssa and Marshall’s relationship and the elements of Ellen DeGeneres. Strange, I know, but I promise it works.

Characters: Lily Bloom, the unironic flower enthusiast, is going to have a special place in my heart. Like most Hoover protagonists, she is witty, kind and good-hearted. However, she is not perfect. She falls into the trap, like many women, of loving those who hurt her. One of my favorite characteristics about her is her ambition towards her career and want for success. Her character arc mimics that of her mother and I absolutely love the way it came full-circle.

Overall: This book covers some very horrible and very real topics. By far my least favorite part (and this is also one of my favorite parts) is that these types of abuse happen every day. I recently had to deal with someone very close to me being within an emotionally abusive relationship. When this happens to someone, people from the outside often wonder how someone could stay in such a horrible relationships. This book answers this question. It shows how you can hate someone for their bad side, but still love all the good parts of them. You don’t just stop loving someone because they hurt you. Often, that is what makes the abuse so horrible is that you still love them anyway. This book has caused me a significant amount of reflection on this issue, which is why I highly recommend reading it.

Ending Rating: 9/10 Spoiler ALERT: I would have liked to see Lily be single for a while. I know we don’t see truly how much time has passed toward the end. But I would have liked to see more time between when she leaves Ryle and moves on to Atlas.

Would I recommend it?  Yes. It is a sensitive topic, but it is worth reading about.

Is this book on your to-read list? Thoughts on domestic abuse and writing?

One thought on “Review: It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

Your Thoughts?

